# FULL COUNCIL

### Minutes of a meeting of the Full Council held on Thursday 25 May 2023 at 6.00 pm in Telford Theatre, Limes Walk, Oakengates, Telford, TF2 6EP

**Present:** Councillors E Aston, S Bentley, K T Blundell, M Boylan, A J Burford, S P Burrell, E M Callear, L D Carter, G H Cook, E Davies, S Davies, P Davis, F Doran, N A Dugmore, A J Eade, A R H England, N A M England, S Handley, Z Hannington, C Healy, T L B Janke, A S Jhawar, J Jones, G C W Latham-Reynolds, L Lewis, G Luter, A D McClements, R Mehta, K Middleton, H Morgan, T J Nelson, R A Overton, L Parker, L Powers, I Preece, S J Reynolds, S A W Reynolds, H Rhodes, R Sahota, P J Scott, S Syrda, G Thomas, P Thomas, B J Thompson, W L Tomlinson, K T Tomlinson, K Tonks, C R Turley, R Tyrrell, J Urey, O Vickers, P Watling and D R W White

Apologies: Councillors G L Offland

# 1 <u>Declaration</u>

Councillor O Vickers read the following declaration:

"Colleagues, aware of our responsibilities to promote democracy and the wellbeing of all local people, on behalf of the Council, I make this commitment to our office as elected representatives.

Elected to serve the public good, we recognise that public office is a privilege granted by the people and not a right.

We, elected representatives of the people of Telford & Wrekin, declare that we will, to the best of our ability, uphold the Council's constitution and serve the community above any private or personal interest."

Members signified their affirmation of the Declaration.

# 2 Prayers and Reflections

Ms N Headley, representing the Telford African and Afro-Caribbean Centre, said prayers.

# 3 <u>Election of Mayor</u>

It was moved by Councillor P R Watling, seconded by Councillor H Morgan, that Councillor A R H England be elected as Mayor of the Council.

# <u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor A R H England be elected as Mayor of the Council for the municipal year 2023/24.

# 4 <u>Election of Speaker</u>

It was moved by Councillor A D McClements, seconded by Councillor G H Cook, that Councillor P Davis be elected as Speaker of the Council.

# <u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor P Davis be elected as Speaker of the Council for the municipal year 2023/24.

### 5 <u>Election of Deputy Speaker</u>

It was moved by Councillor L Lewis, seconded by Councillor E Aston, that Councillor Z Hannington be elected as Deputy Speaker of the Council.

# <u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor Z Hannington be elected as Deputy Speaker of the Council for the municipal year 2023/24.

# 6 <u>Election of Deputy Mayor</u>

It was moved by Councillor R Mehta, seconded by Councillor L Parker, that Councillor I Preece be elected as Deputy Mayor of the Council.

# <u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor I Preece be elected as Deputy Mayor of the Council for the municipal year 2023/24.

#### 7 Vote of Thanks to Retiring Mayor

A vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor, Councillor R Mehta, was proposed by Councillor C Healy and seconded by Councillor R A Overton.

#### <u>RESOLVED</u> – that the Council record its thanks to the retiring Mayor, Councillor R Mehta for his service over the 2022/23 term of office.

# 8 <u>Reply to Vote of Thanks</u>

In response, the retiring Mayor thanked Members for their kind words and stated that it had been an honour to serve as Mayor. He highlighted a number of engagements that he had attended, such as riding in a hot air balloon and visiting the Borough in Santa's sleigh. He had enjoyed the honour of hosting the Queen Consort and the Lord Lieutenant during their visits and engagements in the Borough.

The retiring Mayor noted that he had raised over £12,000 which would be used to support the work of the Telford Interfaith Council. He expressed his thanks to the Council staff, his deputy, the Mayoress and his family for all the support he had received during his mayoral year.

# 9 <u>Election of Leader of the Council</u>

It was moved by Councillor R A Overton, seconded by Councillor G C W Latham-Reynolds, that Councillor S Davies be elected as Leader of the Council for a four year term of office.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor S Davies be elected as Leader of the Council for a four year term of office from 2023/24 – 2026/27.

#### 10 <u>Appointment of Deputy Leader</u>

The Leader confirmed that he was appointing Councillor R A Overton as Deputy Leader for a four year term.

#### 11 <u>Declarations of Interest</u>

None.

#### 12 <u>Minutes of the Previous Meeting</u>

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that the minutes of the meeting held on 2 March 2023 be confirmed and signed by the Mayor.

#### 13 <u>Announcements</u>

The Leader advised that he had first been elected to the Council 12 years ago and that he was proud to represent the community he was born and brought up in. The Leader expressed his congratulations to the newly elected Councillors and thanked those Members who were not returned or decided not to stand for election for their time, energy and passion while undertaking their duties.

The Leader reflected on his time in office. He noted that one of his first actions in post as a Cabinet Member had been to halt the privatisation of the Ice Rink and noted that it was a magnet for children and young people in the Brough and generated income which was invested back into services across the Borough.

The Leader highlighted a number of achievements, which included the Pride in Your High Street Programme, the Telford Land Deal, the designation of 17 Local Nature Reserve and Children's Services being rated as Outstanding by Ofsted.

Councillor A J Eade, Leader of the Conservative Group, noted that this was a civic occasion. Councillor Eade discussed his first Full Council Meeting and that it had been said at that meeting that Members were there to do their best for the Borough.

Councillor W L Tomlinson, Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, welcomed initiatives that the Council had introduced to support residents in the Borough. Councillor Tomlinson stated that Members should strive that at the end of the four year term of office that every ward should be a better place to live in than when the term of office began.

#### 14 <u>Appointment of Cabinet</u>

Councillor S Davies notified the meeting of his Cabinet appointments.

# 15 <u>Delegation Scheme</u>

Councillor N A M England proposed that the Council reassert the delegation scheme as detailed in the Council Constitution.

<u>RESOLVED</u> - that the discharge of Council functions by Committees as set out in the Council's Constitution dated 5 March 2020 be approved under the provisions of Section 101 of the Local Government Act 1972.

#### 16 Appointment of Committees and Boards

Proposals for the appointment of Committees, Commissions and Boards, etc in accordance with the political balance of the Council had been submitted. It was noted that there was a typographical error in the report, however, the calculations were correct.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that the committees and bodies for the municipal year 2023/24 (including the appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs) be appointed as set out in the report.

#### 17 Programme of Ordinary Meetings of the Council

The programme of dates for ordinary meetings of the Council for 2023/24 would be as set out in the report.

The meeting ended at 7.07 pm

Chairman:

Date:Thursday 13 July 2023